SAINT-EX ― Search and characterisation of exoplanets


The SAINT-EX project is the result of a consortium of people and institutions supported by different funding agencies and sponsors. The project's organisation involves the Outreach, Engineering and Science Teams. 

The SAINT-EX Science Team is currently composed of one Principal Investigator, one Project Coordinator and six Co-Investigators:

Principal Investigator

  • Brice-Olivier Demory, CSH, University of Bern, Switzerland

Project Coordinator

  • Yilen Gómez Maqueo Chew, Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM, Mexico


  • Willy Benz, NCCR PlanetS, Switzerland
  • François Bouchy, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Michaël Gillon, University of Liège, Belgium
  • Kevin Heng, CSH, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Didier Queloz, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Laurence Sabin, Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM, Mexico


Additional researchers are part of SAINT-EX as Science Team Associates:

Science Team Associates

  • Simon Grimm, CSH, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • James McCormac (University of Warwick)
  • Romina Petrucci, Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM, Mexico
  • Urs Schroffenegger, CSH, University of Bern, Switzerland


We also benefit from pivotal support from our Engineering and Outreach teams:


  • Liliana Figueroa Carrillo, Superintendent (works and maintenance), UNAM, Mexico


  • Yuyen Gómez Maqueo Chew (artistic director)
  • Julieta Fierro, Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM, Mexico
  • Leticia Carigi, Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM, Mexico


The SAINT-EX team is particularly grateful to the following people who provided critical help on various aspects of the project:


  • Martin Binggeli (University of Bern)
  • Bruno Chazelas (University of Geneva)
  • Enrique Colorado (UNAM)
  • Laetitia Delrez (University of Cambridge)
  • Jesús González (UNAM)
  • Joel Herrera (UNAM)
  • Emmanuel Jehin (University of Liege)
  • Janine Jungo (University of Bern)
  • Carsten Knigge (University of Bern)
  • Irène Leder (University of Bern)
  • William Lee (UNAM)
  • Eduardo López (UNAM)
  • Manuel Nuñez (UNAM)
  • Daniele Piazza (University of Bern)
  • Olivier Philipp (mTail software)
  • Mauricio Reyes Ruiz (UNAM)
  • Daniel Riesen (University of Bern)
  • Timm Riesen (University of Bern)
  • Mailis Riim (University of Bern)
  • Daniel Sebastian (University of Liege)
  • Gerardo Sierra (UNAM)
  • Sandrine Sohy (University of Liege)
  • Alan Watson (UNAM)
  • Peter Wittwer (University of Bern)
  • Salvador Zazueta (UNAM)
  • Danielle Zemp (University of Bern)